RAEng Fellow: Anton Ziolkowski

Tue, 05/09/2017

Professor Anton Ziolkowski has been elected a Fellow of the Royal Academy of Engineering.

This is an outstanding honour which recognizes Anton Ziolkowski’s achievements in the field of geophysical engineering.  Anton is Professor of Petroleum Geoscience in the School of GeoSciences. 

His work on the development of theories and methods in geophysical engineering has had worldwide impact on exploration for earth resources.  At the National Coal Board he pioneered high-resolution seismic exploration for delineation of discontinuities in coal seams.  At the British National Oil Corporation he co-invented the measurement of air gun signatures, now used routinely in marine seismic exploration for hydrocarbons.  At Delft University of Technology he led research into the measurement of land and marine seismic sources.  At Edinburgh he co-invented the multichannel transient electromagnetic surveying method for onshore and offshore exploration for hydrocarbons, and co-led the technology spin-out, MTEM limited, subsequently acquired by Petroleum Geo-Services for $275M, including $16M for the university.

Election to the Academy is by invitation only, with up to 50 Fellows elected each year from nominations made by existing Fellows.

“Since 130 engineers were first called together in 1976 to form the Fellowship of Engineering, our Fellows have come together to advance and promote excellence in engineering.  I’m so proud to welcome our new Fellows, who represent the very best of UK engineering. From technology giants to our universities’ finest minds, our new Fellows demonstrate how engineering is tackling some of the biggest challenges facing the world.  I look forward to working with them as we continue to make the UK a leading nation for engineering innovation and businesses.”

   -  Professor Dame Ann Dowling OM DBE FREng FRS, President of the Royal Academy of Engineering


Further Information

Royal Academy of Engineering: www.raeng.org.uk 

Royal Academy of Engineering
Royal Academy of Engineering