Research Support at GeoSciences

Welcome to Research Support at GeoSciences.  Research support available within the School of GeoSciences brings together services from across the School. Support services within the School is provided by our Research Grants Office, the University's Research Support Office, our Business Development Executive and our Research Support team. We aim to provide comprehensive support to School academics and researchers at every stage, including:before you submit your grant applications, once you have received funding and after you complete your research.


Research Organisation

 
Prof Ian Main
Professor Ian Main
Director of Research
tel: 50 4911
email: researchorg@geos.ed.ac.uk and ian.main@ed.ac.uk    

 

Dr Dan Van der Horst
Dr Dan van der Horst
Deputy Director of Research
tel: 51 4467
email: Dan.vanderHorst@ed.ac.uk 

 

Rosie Maccagnano
Rosie Maccagnano
Manager of Research Support Services: Internal and external research communications; REF coordinator; Support team management; Policy advisor.
tel: 50 7541 
email: researchorg@geos.ed.ac.uk and rosanna.maccagnano@ed.ac.uk


Research Support Team

Eladio Figueroa
Research Support and Events Administrator: Secretary to Ethics Committee and to Research Committee; Events and Seminars Coordinator.
tel: 50 5850
email: e.figueroa@ed.ac.uk and ethics@geos.ed.ac.uk and events@geos.ed.ac.uk

 

Greer Brook Singh
Greer Brook Singh (on maternity leave)
Research Support Administrator (Data): Support for PURE, Open Access;
tel: 51 4348
email: g.singh@ed.ac.uk and publications@geos.ed.ac.uk

 

Magda Nowak (maternity cover)
Research Support Administrator (Data): Support for PURE, Open Access;
tel: 51 4348
email: m.nowak@ed.ac.uk and publications@geos.ed.ac.uk


 

Research Impact Support

Andrew Cross
Andrew Cross
GeoSciences, Impact Coordinator
tel: 50 5982
email: andrew.cross@ed.ac.uk

 

Financial Award Management and Pre-application Finance Assistance

Brendan Martin
Brendan Martin
Research Finance Manager
tel: 50 4843 
email: Brendan.Martin@ed.ac.uk

 


 

Business Development

Stuart Simmons
Stuart Simmons
Business Development Executive
tel: 50 8516 
email: Stuart.Simmons@ed.ac.uk


University of Edinburgh's Research Support Office

Gordon Marshall
Research Support & Development
tel: 51 4386 
email: gordon.marshall@ed.ac.uk

Angela Noble
Research Support & Development
tel: 50 9024 
email: angela.noble@ed.ac.uk